Custom Faction Mappings

1. 9 years ago

Friznit

28 Nov 2014 Administrator
    Edited 9 years ago by Friznit

Ref Old's post on the BI Forums: http://forums.bistudio.com/showthread.php?184842-RHS-Escalation-(AFRF-and-USAF)-Release-0-3-0&p=2828574&viewfull=1#post2828574

Problem Statement

Problem 1: many addons do not define groups properly so they don't work with ALiVE
    Problem 2: even if groups are defined in the config, they're not based on a realistic ORBAT
    Problem 3: ALiVE spawns at the faction level only so you can't mix different faction classes into the ORBAT

User Stories

1. As a mission designer, I want to mix classes from multiple factions to build a comprehensive ORBAT for my mission. For example, I want to define a custom ORBAT that uses RHS_T80 and Sud's Infantry and Chairborne's Mi8.

2. As a mission designer, I want to control the relative quantity of each group type that spawns. For example, I want one Armoured HQ group for every 4 Armoured Groups that spawns and I want one Battalion HQ group for every 100 groups spawned.

3. As an ALiVE dev, I want to automatically create semi random force compositions loosely based on realistic ORBATs with no user intervention. This is how it is handled currently, where variables are set in the module parameters: _size = Battalion/Company/Platoon. Individual group types can be blacklisted in the module parameters,

// Force Composition   
       switch(_type) do {
        case "Armored": {     
         _countArmored = floor((_size / 20) * 0.5);
         _countMechanized = floor((_size / 12) * random(0.2));
         _countMotorized = floor((_size / 12) * random(0.2));
         _countInfantry = floor((_size / 10) * 0.5);
         _countAir = floor((_size / 30) * random(0.1));
         _countSpecOps = floor((_size / 25) * 0.5);
        };
        case "Mechanized": {
         _countMechanized = floor((_size / 12) * 0.5);
         _countArmored = floor((_size / 20) * random(0.2));