Active Group Limiter Issues

1. 8 years ago

Hey guys.

I'm an admin/mission maker for a group that averages 45-60 players. We have started switching from DAC to ALIVE, but have run into a few problems as we figure things out. I'm sorry if this has been asked before. I've searched, and most topics talking about the group limiter mention how to optimize it, and don't answer my question.

A recurring problem early on was that the default group limiter (50) used alongside civilian/cqb modules would stop profiled units from spawning and 'add them to the force pool.' I haven't made use of enemy reinforcement (yet) so that meant they were just gone. So first thing I did was remove civilians, and decrease CQB. From my tests (On local and dedicated) it seemed as though ALIVE was counting our player groups in that limit. Everything worked fine with a squad, but would break when we had two platoons loaded in.

Our current work around has been to prop the group limiter to very high numbers (150+) and this has, obviously, led to the reverse problem of too many AI.

So I have a few questions I was hoping I could get some help with.
    Are player groups counted in the limit?
    If not, why would units spawn at low player counts, and not at higher ones?
    Do Civilians and CQB units count?

Slightly unrelated question, with the logistics module, if I set helicopters to "no" will that mean they can't use helicopters as reinforcement transports and thus be restricted to land based movement?

Thank you all for your help and the mod.

2. It is my understanding that CQB and civilians are not included in the profile limiter (civs have their own limiter) ... and I would be surprised if player groups were counted but don't know for sure.

Re: logistics question setting Heli to "no" means that you won't get any heli reinforcement groups.. nothing to do with transports

Interested to hear your thoughts on DAC vs ALiVE once you get things switched over.