Flagging tasks as C2ISTAR vs. Editor placed tasks

1. 8 years ago

First off, I wanted to thank you guys, I'm pretty new to editing/mission making and I'll be honest the forum has 4-5 of the most helpful people I've ever run across. I ask questions in www.reddit.com/r/armadev but it seems like most of those questions get partially answered and I don't know where to turn to get the full answer. For some reason I can't seem to post in the BI Forums, although I have an account..anyways..thank you guys.

I have a mission where I've populated a few editor placed tasks. Sometimes my small groups likes to keep playing with ALiVE since even after the main objectives of a mission are complete it's fun to just keep doing random stuff. But I'd like to find a way to flag tasks generated by C2ISTAR so that they are viewed optional, or expire after a certain period so we can cycle fresh activities while trying to complete the main objectives.

I guess you can think of this analogously to an RPG game, where Main Quest tasks are set by the mission maker (me) and C2ISTAR is generating random side quests...I'd like the Task lists found in your diary/journal to flag the C2ISTAR as optional objectives. Also I'd like that if these tasks aren't something my team want to do they can just "wait it out" and C2ISTAR will assign a new task after a predetermined period.

In essence I want my team to work in parallel with friendly OPCOM, occasionally OPCOM will request help from the players (via C2ISTAR) but players have full freedom to ignore those taskings and continue with their primary objectives. Since multiple editor placed objectives appear throughout the mission, I'd like a way to differentiate Primary Tasks and OPCOM "requests". Something as easy as tagging the task title with "OPCOM Request: *generic task name here*" would work?

2. Well, you can always manually delete outstanding tasks that are no longer needed through the CISTAR command tablet.