Ai Commander and Air Assets

1. 7 years ago

Do Ai commanders use air assets? as iv placed air units through the military placement module however I never see the Ai commander use them and they just sit in the base doing nothing. I'm new to Arma mission editing and only started using ALiVE so please forgive me if I missed something but the only way I see air assets in use is when I request combat support.

2. Commanders prioritize air assets to enemy vehicle threats. If your troops scout out enemy armor and aren't equipped to handle them. they will notify the commander which will attempt to pull any available air assets and task them to deal with the threat.

3. Edited 7 years ago by HcavJ

Ah okay makes total sense now, Its the AAF against the FIA insurgency... Also is it possible for the AI troops to call CAS/Art support? or is it a player only option?

Edit: as in troops are pinned down in a town vs various infantry groups and need fire support

4. What I usually do when I want to make sur the enemy to have alot of helicopters, is manually placing a decent amount of helicopters, syncing them to the virtual AI module and then putting them outside the map or somewhere I know we won't go. At least for me it feels like the amount of helicopters we face increases. If you want more helicopters in general that is.

Onto the second post, I believe that the opposite AI-commander won't use CAS/artillery support as such, but if you place down or make sure there is artillery of some sort close to eventual combat-zones, that might work, at least me and my group usually get's annihilated when we unexpectedly run into mortar camps.

5. Most AI mods will allow active units to call in any existing artillery units in range, vanilla BIS AI typically don't do this themselves.

AI can call in CAS though if they are severely overwhelmed.