Trigger on hostility level?

1. 7 years ago
    Edited 7 years ago by Bad Quaker

Hi everyone -- First time posting -- loving this mod. I'm a relatively new mission editor with practically no scripting experience, though I'm familiar with other languages (javascript, php).

What I wish to do:
    I'm setting up an insurgency mission (story details below) and I'm wanting to set a trigger that is activated when a) the player is in a defined area (let's call it trigger_area), and b) civilian hostility against Blufor is below a certain threshold. I know how to do the first part, but the second one is beyond my level of understanding.

What I've tried:
    I've tried calling the getGlobalPosture function, but I haven't figured out how to get the data I need (If there's a function to dump the contents of a multi-dimensional array for development purposes in Arma, I haven't found it).

Other questions/complications
    I'm not sure if civ hostility is calculated at the global level, the civ placement module level, or just at the cluster level -- or if there are multiple levels. Ideally, I would love it if the trigger calculated the average hostility levels contained within trigger_area.

Mission Story Context
    The players will be a U.S. Green Beret ODA tasked with training local tribal security forces to resist the insurgents. This will involve a sector-by-sector effort to earn the respect and trust of each tribe. Once activated, the trigger described above will activate a new AI commander who will begin populating their tribal area with security forces. There will be several such tribal areas set up across the map.

Thanks!

2. Edited 7 years ago by Bad Quaker

Possible Compromise
    I'll add that if it makes it a lot easier, I'm fine with:

• setting the trigger in the center of a single town, therfore presumably falling entirely within the within the bounds of a single ALiVE-defined civilian cluster.