Issues With Persistence, Respawn, and data

1. 7 years ago
    Edited 7 years ago by ScottWest

Hey there. I've been lurking here for a bit, but finally figured it was time to try my hand at making some ALiVE missions. First of all, thank you very much to everyone who has contributed to this. It's such a great project and really does bring Arma "alive" for me. Secondly, this is my first attempt at creating a mission for a local dedicated server to use persistence and War Room.

The mission: The main Tanoa island is occupied by militia in the military zones and an allied guerrilla insurgency in the towns. BLUFOR and OPFOR start an invasion of the main island from two separate islands. All 3 factions compete to dominate the island.

I've gone through the helpful guide here: http://alivemod.com/wiki/index.php/ALiVE_Data#Resetting_Stats_and_Persistence to get the local dedicated server up and running. I've also followed the server set up instructions on War Room.

A couple of other notes:

• Always shut down the server with an admin save and exit
    • respawnOnStart = 1;
    • using multispawn module for insertion style respawns

I'm noticing these problems:

• Despite telling the multispawn module to preserve load outs, after a restart or respawn, I only start with half my load out. Namely I'm missing compass, map, gps, and watch.
    • Despite saving player position in Player Options module, player position is not preserved after restart. Always start back at original starting location.
    • War Room does seem to be getting only some data. It can tell what operation I have joined and tracks kills and shots, etc. However, the map view and the group view do not report intel or stats, respectively from the operation. The player and group newsfeed do appear to work though.
    • When I open up the logistics menu, I always see "Current Force Pool: WAITING..."

To troubleshoot:

• Made sure that all modules have persistence on and player persistence was set appropriately.